Back to List of Books

  • Warlords and Presidents of Republic of China

    Author: Wen Feifei

    Tags: History

    Published: March 1, 2014

    ISBN: 9787219086490

    Leave Us a Message

Book Description:

This book narrates, with remarkable vividness, the interesting stories of many great warlords and presidents during the Beiyang Government, a politically unstable period of endless wars and untold sufferrings for common people. For historians, however, this peirod inherites the revolutionary spirit of the 1911 revolution that overthrew the Qing Dynasty, the last fuedal dynasty in China, and founded the Republic of China.This book examines the factors that hindered and finally ruined the young Republic. It stands out from the other books on the same period in its distinctive perspective, that is, it reproduces the historical moments through vivid narratives about 8 well-known warlords who served either as the president of the republic or the head of competing military factions, i.e., Xu Shichang, Yuan Shikai, Wu Peifu, Zhang Zuolim, Cao Kun, Duan Qirui, Feng Guozhang, Li Yuanhong, etc.

Books by Authors

A Chinese woman wirter with her ancestral home is Xingtai, Hebei Province, Wen Feifei graduated from the Chinese Department of Hebei Univeristy. She has written over 100 works ranging from news stories on social life, interviews with the cultrual celebrities and commentaries. In recent years, she has grown increasingy interested in the study of historical documents of the Republic of China, especially the early Republic of China, and devoted herself to the writing about that period.

Leave Us a Message: